Skip to content


Awards for Oorvani Foundation personnel and projects

October 2016: Meera K, co-founder, Citizen Matters was elected an Ashoka fellow. Ashoka is a worldwide network of social entrepreneurs, and Ashoka: Innovators for the Public formally elected seven new Ashoka Fellows in South Asia for 2016. These social entrepreneurs have pioneered game-changing and scalable innovations. Meera was selected for her work in building a community news platform that is for and by citizens, which provides them with the critical information they need to drive change in their communities. 

September 2016: Uncovering Asia, the investigative journalism conference, organised by Global Investigative Journalism Network (GIJN) brought together top investigative reporters, data journalists, and media law and security experts from over 30 countries in Kathmandu, Nepal.
Associate Editor Shree D N was awarded a fellowship to attend this conference, to represent the Oorvani team’s achievements in environmental journalism and document-based investigative journalism. 

December 2015: Citizen Matters was one of three finalists in the first ever ‪Innovation For Good, award instituted by the Centre for Work, Technology and Social Change in collaboration with SASNET at Lund University, Sweden, and received the honorary prize at the Media and Innovation Days Conference on December 9th, at New Delhi. 

April 2015: Citizen Matters’ co-founder Subramaniam (Subbu) Vincent won the John S Knight (JSK) Journalism Fellowship at Stanford University for 2015-16. 

December 2014: Citizen Matters was declared the joint winner of the Manthan Award (South Asia and Asia Pacific), instituted by the Digital Empowerment Foundation, in the e-News & Journalism category. 

August 2014: Citizen Matters received the Manthan Award South West India, instituted by the Digital Empowerment Foundation, in the e-News & Journalism category, for creating an online resource of news and independent coverage. 

March 2014: Citizen Matters  won the Namma Bengaluru Award for 2013 in the Media Organisation category.